Trademark, Brand, Logo and Slogan Protection

Trademark, Brand, Logo and Slogan Protection

Our trademark group creates strategic partnerships with clients first seeking to fully understand their particular brand protection and enforcement strategy, goals and budget – both in the U.S. and abroad. We have a particular emphasis on international trademarks where approximately 40% of our several thousand docket of marks we handle for clients are foreign. Our group then formulates plans and offers guidance that fit our clients’ goals. We regularly review progress against plans as building ip strength and scope of protection is a dynamic and collaborative process – especially in the fast moving e-commerce world and crowded fields of competitors.

IP portfolios are high value assets for our clients and we seek to add further value beyond the rendering of legal services thru technology and value-enablement offerings such as reduced fee continuing legal education, support training, hotlines and ip secondments for leaves, special projects and building in-house capabilities.

Our group searches trademarks, evaluates them for clearance and use in commerce, and prepares and files trademark applications to federally register brand names, logos, taglines, and trade dress before the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

We assist clients in obtaining and enforcing international trademark rights around the world and advise on gray-market, counterfeit goods, and domain name cybersquatting issues.

The firm handles cease and desist demands and litigates likelihood of confusion and infringement/dilution issues in federal courts, before the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board in opposition and cancellation proceedings, and in e-commerce such as Amazon IP and advertising disputes.

We further have an emphasis on assisting private equity, corporate attorneys, buyers and sellers in ip due diligence evaluations for mergers, acquisitions and financings in the health, wellness, medical, beauty, fashion and technology industries.

Our firm also files copyright applications with the Library of Congress for federal protection under the Lanham Act to protect our clients’ original works of authorship.

With trademark filings surging in the last two years creating back-logs, the Trademark Modernization Act recently going into effect, the value of best practices and speed of searching-to- registration as important as ever to build strength, retain scope and gain Amazon Brand Registry offerings – it’s important to have more than a strategic relationship with your ip attorneys as opposed to a transactional one.

 

Articles

Practice Group Leader(s)

Amanda Roach

Partner

amanda@amintalati.com

312.327.3328 PHONE

ATTORNEYS IN THIS PRACTICE

Angela S. Kalsi

Partner

angela@amintalati.com

312.784.1078 PHONE

George R. Spatz

Partner

gspatz@amintalati.com

312.784.1062 PHONE

Jonathan J. Krit

Of Counsel

jonathan@amintalati.com

312.327.3357 PHONE

Brett Manchel

Associate

brett@amintalati.com

312.784.1066 PHONE

Ashley Rovner Watson

Associate

ashley@amintalati.com

312.784.1071 PHONE

Yuliya Patlata

Associate

yuliya@amintalati.com

312.784.1087 PHONE

Rakesh M. Amin

Partner

rakesh@amintalati.com

312.327.3382 PHONE

Sanjay S. Karnik

Senior Counsel

sanjay@amintalati.com

312.327.3327 PHONE