Consumer Product Safety

Consumer Product Safety

The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) regulates manufacturers, importers and retailers of consumer products, such as toys, apparel, appliances, furniture, electronics, and more. If testing, complaints, or other information suggest a product may contain a defect that creates a risk of injury, companies have a very limited time to report to the CPSC, and the penalties for late reporting can be devastating.

Led by Ivan Wasserman, one of the foremost attorneys in this field, Amin Talati Wasserman’s Consumer Product Safety Commission group:

  • Provides clients with comprehensive regulatory counseling services,
  • Helps develop effective compliance systems, and
  • When necessary, gives strategic advice for responding to crises.

Ivan has a long history of helping clients comply with the CPSC’s warning label requirements and the reporting obligations of Section 15(b) of the Consumer Product Safety Act, counseling on proactive responses and handling CPSC investigations and product recalls.

The firm’s work in consumer product safety follows our main objective: to help clients identify and resolve issues proactively before they escalate. In addition to developing internal compliance programs for our clients, we advise on how and when hazards must be reported to the CPSC. In the event of a recall, we work closely with the company and the government agency to create solutions which address liability concerns quickly with minimal negative impact. Finally, in the case of an investigation or enforcement action, we zealously represent our clients in proceedings with the objective of achieving an expedient resolution and returning them to the smooth operation of business.

Practice Group Leader(s)

Ivan J. Wasserman

Managing Partner

ivan@amintalati.com

202.496.4966 PHONE

Abhishek K. Gurnani

Partner

abhishek@amintalati.com

312.327.3325 PHONE

ATTORNEYS IN THIS PRACTICE

Matthew R. Orr

Partner

matt@amintalati.com

213.985.7219 PHONE

William P. Cole

Partner

william@amintalati.com

213.985.7206 PHONE

George R. Spatz

Partner

gspatz@amintalati.com

312.784.1062 PHONE

Shelly Garg

Partner

shelly@amintalati.com

202.918.7975 PHONE

Rend Al-Mondhiry

Partner

rend@amintalati.com

202.918.7852 PHONE

Jennifer Adams

Partner

jennifer@amintalati.com

312.327.3383 PHONE

Karmina Fefferman

Associate

karmina@amintalati.com

312.784.1085 PHONE

PHONE